I designed a magazine (and enjoyed the h*ck out of it)

For those of you who don’t know, I’m about to finish a degree in the Sciences of Communication or, as my Erasmus paperwork stated, Media Studies.

Impressive, I know.

In my three years in college, I’ve taken a lot of different classes in the most varied subjects such as introduction to law, economy, marketing, spanish literature (#erasmuslife), the basics of journalism, radio and public relations. This semester, I got to take a class in Digital Journalism and for the first time in my life I did something I’d always dreamed of doing: I designed a magazine.

Now, design, although considered communication by many, is not a component of my degree. This is unfortunate, as with time I’ve come to realize I love the visual arts as much as I love writing, which is what drove me to my degree in the first place. I was thrilled when my teacher, Paula Cordeiro, announced that we would be building a magazine from scratch for her class, which meant someone would have to do the pagination.

I did the two issues by myself. I had some help and inspiration from Canva for the first edition before I realized building a 40+ page magazine was too much for an online editor and moved all my work to Pages, Apple’s version of Microsoft Word which is only 1000x faster, cleaner and easier to use.

The second edition is all my work and it’s the one I’m most proud of.

I’m leaving the two magazines below for those interested in flipping through the pages of my work and reading some of my colleagues’ articles. They’re pretty good, and I’m not just saying that because I spent many a long night staring at them as I moved picture and text 2cm to the left and then 1,9cm to the right.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click here to read the rest of OnTicket’s first edition

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click here to read the rest of OnTicket’s second edition

 

Full disclaimer: this is a school project where neither I nor any of my classmates make any type of profit. The photos used were mostly our own, but we also grabbed some from free photo sharing platforms such as Unsplash. The texts are all our own.

Leave a Reply

