Remember that time I graffitied a van?

The other week, I decided to go for a walk through Amoreiras so I could get my daily step count up to 10k and be out the house for a little while. As I was passing through, I noticed they were repainting the graffiti wall in Amoreiras that I so dearly love and cherish with new, fun designs.

GRAFITTI-13GRAFITTI-12

I love graffiti. I have since I was a child and a pure tomboy with a love for all things that made me feel like a badass rebel. I’ve only ever spray painted once: with the help of my mom we out during the night and painted an old white van that had been on our street for years. I remember painting basic things like ‘Benfica sucks’ and drawing smiley faces because I was 9 and had all the artistic talent of a dead mollusk.

This is one of my fondest childhood memories, after all, how could it not be? I graffitied a van! With my mom, who isn’t even into the ‘badass rebel’ vibes.

At Amoreiras, the people there are a lot more talented and know what they’re doing pretty well, but it was still a lot of fun to see their work and be inspired by it.

GRAFITTI-5GRAFITTI-7GRAFITTI-14

I talked to one of the artists, Nuno, who told me they were all doing it just because they loved doing graffiti. No money exchanges are made for these huge 5 by 3 artworks that make an otherwise boring street look spectacular.

It just goes to show that when people really love something, it shows in their actions more than it could ever show on paper.

GRAFITTI-3GRAFITTI-4GRAFITTI-11

IMG-20170520-WA0000
Nuno took a picture of me while I wasn’t looking. Afterwards, he offered to take some other pics, but I don’t like how I look in all of those, so this one is all you get.

Muro das Amoreiras is a yearly event where a bunch of talented graffiti artists get together to spray paint some walls, drink beer and have BBQ. Check out their Facebook page if you would like to find out a little bit more about the artists and their designs.

Leave a Reply

