So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye!

My graduation ceremony was yesterday, but I’ll be honest, I don’t feel like anything is over.

Yesterday I didn’t cry. I didn’t make long, sappy movies in my head about how it’s all changing. I didn’t despair at the thought of never seeing my friends again and I certainly didn’t look with longing at the faculty that I had always classified as cold, lifeless and exceedingly bureaucratic.

For me, the end of college feels more like a start.

I have learned so much about myself these past three years. I’ve lost weight and developed a better relationship with food and exercise. I went abroad and discovered how great traveling and being independent can be. I figured out my love for writing is actually a love for creating content in general and, most importantly, I met so many people who changed my life and made me a better person.

IMG_2480
This picture was taken the day I learned the results of my high school exams. I got a high mark in portuguese, which meant automatic entrance to one of my uni of choices. To celebrate, my family and I shared a glass of gin in Amsterdam. Ended up hating the gin, but enjoying the day.

I’m so different from who I was when I first enrolled, back in 2014, that when I see old pictures of myself I think I’m looking at another person, physically and mentally. I’m happier than I used to be and I’m ready to go out into the world as this older, wiser, better-looking, more humble, but hopefully still funny person.

There’s just so much to do! So many places to go and people to meet and finally — after spending my whole life in school — I’ll have time to do some of it without having to worry about going back to the same old in September. I couldn’t be more excited!

In my current list of plans for the future, I have:

  • Start a youtube channel to record videos about my weight loss journey, food, makeup and skincare for skin with acne, traveling and Lisbon in general. The plan is to start simple and small and go from there.
  • Draw a lot more, especially digitally.
  • Take Graphic Design classes next fall.
  • Freshen up my German.
  • Learn basic sewing techniques so I can alter my clothes when need be.
  • Get a job and earn that sweet €€€.
  • Use that €€€ to go travel.
  • Do volunteering abroad (preferably in Asia).

Are those too many plans? Am I being too ambitious? Probably, but I’m too pumped up to care.

Life is my oyster and I plan to eat it up with a drizzle of fun and a pinch of recklessness.

And now, here are some pictures from yesterday!

Thank you to all my friends who made the past three years a journey I loved taking. No words can describe how much you guys mean to me, but some of these pictures may. I love you and I don’t believe we’ll ever be apart, now and forever.

benção-17benção-6benção-29benção-70benção-23benção-2benção-4benção-25benção-26benção-27benção-48benção-74benção-78benção-15benção-18benção-32

One thought on “So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye!

Leave a Reply

